Embracing The Chaos…or trying to

Chaotic life in the desert with 3 kids, a husband and celiac disease. It's exhausting and I wouldn't change it.

Birthday Parties and Bedtimes May 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — embracingthechaos @ 9:38 pm

What an exhausting weekend.  I have been running since getting home from our first sleepover party.  (see previous post)  You would think that with the kids being so overtired that they would go to sleep easily.  Ummm, NO.  Never.  Same stall tactics every night.  There are 2 times of the day that I am typically not at my best.  First thing in the morning before my coffee.  I can’t stand the 57 requests being made of me all before I am ever really awake.  I really need to make myself get up earlier so that I can have some time to myself in the morning.  It makes all the difference.  The other time of the day that I don’t always shine, bed time.  I feel like I get so run down by the same crap over and over every night.  They are tired and it is obvious to everyone but them.  Is it like this for everyone else?  On TV it is always portrayed as this sweet time of reading a book and a kiss goodnight and then the kids just go to sleep before you even close their door.  This is about as accurate as the TV version of labor and delivery, which is also just laughable.  I can enjoy it at times but it takes a lot of self talk to take notice and appreciate all the little things.  But tonight I am exhausted so I just wanted them to go to sleep.  It has been a really busy weekend.  Ron works most weekends and typically when he is working me and the kids just stay home.  It is just so much easier that way.  I think that the most stress inducing thing for me is the whole production of getting the kids out of the house.  The kids are now 4 1/2, 2 1/2, and 1.  To get us all out of the house with every one clean and dressed and have everything with us takes me a couple of hours.  I just hate it.  I have to need to get out pretty badly for me to attempt this feat.  And usually by the time I accomplish this I am in a mood.  Last weekend I did the whole production to go to the gym.  I hate going to the gym but am feeling guilty about not going so I talked myself into it.  As usual it took forever to get ready.  Justus squirmed and cried for most of the 40 minute drive there.  The girls slept for the last 10 minutes.  I pulled into the parking lot, woke 3 kids up, got 3 kids out of their car seats, got all our stuff and locked up the car.  As we are walking towards the door I look down at Rori to find that she has had an accident despite the fact that I had her pee right before we left.  4 letter words raged through my head.  Not angry with her but supremely irritated with the situation.  I of course did not have a change of clothes with us.  SO back into the car, buckle up times 4 and another round of crying and irritation for another 40 minute drive home.  All the way home I was vowing to never leave the house alone with 3 kids again!  Despite that,  this weekend we left the house 2 days in a row.  Well, 3 if you count the sleepover.  On Saturday we went to a birthday party.  I have been pretty lucky to have avoided any of these large parties until now.  When the invite came in the mail, the girls saw it.  Me, never one to be able to come up with a fib quickly told them about the party.  Well then the excitement started and the count down was on.  I so badly wanted them to misbehave so I could say “we’re not going to the party because of xyz.”  They must have sensed it.  They didn’t do anything that would have warranted that kind of punishment.  So we went.  It took all morning to get ready.  Not only did I have to get all 4 of us ready and fed twice before we left, I needed to do some laundry and get dinner in the crock pot so there was something ready for when we got home and then lastly I had to make cupcakes and frost them so that the kids would have something to eat that was gluten free when everyone else was having birthday cake.  I was pooped before we ever even left the house.  As it turned out I was really glad we went.  All 3 kids had a great time.  Considering none of them had every been around that many kids before, they socialized really well.  (Which is more than I can say for myself.  I just don’t do well in large groups of people that I don’t know.  I can’t come up with anything to say if my life depended on it.  I am a social retard.)  Unfortunately now, my girls are ruined.  Now they know what a real birthday party is.  Despite having had 7 birthdays for our kids we had managed to have them think that a couple presents, a cake and a song is a birthday party.  And they were happy with that.  I guess I should be happy to have gone through 7 birthdays  with that little effort.  Come this September I suspect that they will be asking for the giant Dora jumping inflatable thing, arts and crafts, a million kids and their families, munchies etc etc etc.  Thanks Nicole!  I owe you one!!

 

One Response to “Birthday Parties and Bedtimes”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh my I do remember those days!!- and you girls were 5 years apart! I take myhat off to you. Give me some notice as to exactly when you expect to host your first real birthday party. I will try and make it.

    Mom


Leave a Reply

