Embracing The Chaos…or trying to

Chaotic life in the desert with 3 kids, a husband and celiac disease. It's exhausting and I wouldn't change it.

Appointments June 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — embracingthechaos @ 1:28 pm

This week has been so busy.  Nearly everyday this week we had some appointment.  Tuesday Sage had a dentist appt to get 2 fillings.  Poor enamel goes along with Celiac Disease so this really is less of an indication of her oral hygiene than it appears.  Dr. was fantastic.  He gave her nitrous oxide (laughing gas) and she didn’t even flinch.  She did great.  Wednesday was Rori’s appointment for a speech evaluation.  I was getting concerned with her speech and the fact that she is working with about 1/3 of the alphabet.  Everything starts with an H.  Anyway, apparently that is normal and she is right where she needs to be.  Ron was right, I was wrong.  Additionally they assessed her comprehension and that is above normal.  So all in all I am glad I took her so now I can put that worry to rest.  Thursday was just an appointment to get my hair cut.  That’s always nice because I get to go by myself.  Friday was great.  It was our first meeting for parents with kids with Celiac Disease.  It will be a once monthly meeting.  It was so great to be in a room full of people that understand what our life is like.  When I heard other people’s stories it made me feel like we really got off lucky.  All the other moms had terrible stories of what their kids went through before they got diagnosed.  Many of them had additional food allergies (CD is not an allergy but an autoimmune disorder) and other health problems they were dealing with.  We’re lucky so far and have not had a lot of drama.  So my plan for Saturday was to take it easy at home, do some cooking and not much else.  The house really looked like it had been ransacked with me taking a day off from the continual pick up.  The day had gone smoothly and the kids were playing together really well at about 6:45 last night.  Ron was at work.  I was just starting to pick up the house and finish cleaning the kitchen when I heard a blood curdling scream from Rori.  If you have kids of your own you know the scream I am talking about.  The one that means get over here quickly, I am hurt!  I ran into the bedroom and Rori was holding her arm and screaming.  Sage said Rori pretended she had fallen and Sage pulled on Rori’s arm “really hard” to help her get up.  Rori wouldn’t move her arm and continued to scream for 30 minutes.  Justus lightly touched her fingers and she screamed even louder.  I thought she had broken her arm.  I called my good friend and neighbor, Susanne,  she had fortunately been cancelled from work and was home.  She was such a HUGE help.  She came over right away so that I could take Rori to the hospital while she stayed here with Sage and Justus.  Moving Rori at all caused even more screaming.  I felt so bad for her and all the screaming had me more than a little rattled.  I got to the hospital and Ron met us in the ED.  They took us in right away.  For once being employees of that hospital worked in our favor.  The nurse practitioner came in immediately.  She said, “let me look at your arm sweetie” and she touched it and moved it a bit and Rori screamed.  Then the NP said “her elbow was dislocated and I just reset it.”  It was done already.  She was fixed.  10 minutes later we were discharged.  It was the quickest ED visit ever.  As soon as it was reset she was fine.  She called it “nursemaids elbow.”  Apparently it is really common and once it happens once she is at a high risk for it to happen again.  The NP taught Ron and I how to fix it ourselves the next time.  So home we went.  Susanne had managed to get Sage to sleep which was amazing to me.  Not only that but she cleaned my house!  Unbelievable.  I don’t know how I can ever repay all that.  Now this morning, Rori is short on sleep and incredibly cranky.  So now I need some parenting tips.  How do you get a 2 1/2 year old to nap when she doesn’t want to nap and doesn’t think she is tired.  I can not get her to even lay in the bed for more than 30 seconds.  Crib won’t work cause she can crawl out.  I tried laying with her.  Nope still won’t stay in the bed.  Please, any tips would be appreciated.

 

2 Responses to “Appointments”

  1. lisa Says:

    I used to drive Ruby down for naps (and even for bed at night sometimes). Being strapped in the car seat was the only way she would stay still enough to conk out.

    This would be less realistic with 2 other kids in tow, though, but I thought I’d just throw it out there…

    • embracingthechaos Says:

      Ya, she will absolutely fall asleep in the car even with the other 2 yapping loudly. But then what? She won’t stay asleep if I try to carry her to bed. I too used to do that when I had just Sage. Then when Rori came along I did it a couple times but the more kids you have the more difficult it becomes. Thanks for the idea tho.


Leave a Reply

